Nine New Members Elected for NEC

Heng SamrinNine new members were elected for National Election Committee (NEC) by Cambodian Members of NECParliament (MPs) this morning.

They were approved by 113/117 of MPs attending in the 4th Plenary Session of Hun Sen in PaliamentNational Assembly (NA) held this morning under the chairmanship of Samdech Akka Moha Ponhea Chakrei Heng Samrin, President of the NA.

Of the newly-appointed members, four are from the Ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), and four from the main opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP). One member is a “neutral” candidate.  

CPP’s members are former advisor to the first Chairman of NEC H.E. Sik Bunhok who becomes new NEC’s Chairman, ex-NEC’s members H.E. Mean Satik and H.E. Em Sophath, and former Ministry of Interior’s senior official H.E. Duch Sorn while CNRP’s candidates are H.E. Kuoy Bunroeun, who is new NEC’s Vice Chairman, the President of the Cambodian Independent Teachers’ Association H.E. Rong Chhun, retired official of NEC H.E. Ms. Te Manirong, and Supreme Court’s Prosecutor H.E. Hing Thirith.

The “neutral” candidate is H.E. Hang Puthea, Director of Neutral and Impartial Committee for Free and Fair Elections in Cambodia.

Comments are closed.