First NA Session of the 5th Legislature Kicks Off

image004The first session of the 5th legislature of the National Assembly (NA) born from the 2013 National Election was officially opened here this morning under the image005presidency of His Majesty Norodom Sihamoni, King of Cambodia, even though the Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP) boycotted the event.

image007Foreign ambassadors to Cambodia and representatives of international organizations were also present on the occasion.

Addressing to the opening ceremony, the monarch congratulated the newly-elected lawmakers and expressed his optimism that the 5th legislature of the NA will fulfill its duties successfully for the supreme benefit of the people and the nation. 

His Majesty the King also called for high national unity and solidarity based on the democratic principles and the rule of law being implemented since 1993.

After his opening speech, the King and all the 68 newly-elected lawmakers and the foreign ambassadors present at the official opening ceremony took a photo session.

According to the schedule, the newly-elected lawmakers will attend the swearing ceremony at the Royal Palace this afternoon, after they decide the validity of each member’s mandate and adopt the NA’s internal regulation for the fifth legislature. The structure of the NA and the new government will be decided tomorrow.   

According to the official election results, the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) won 3.23 million votes, or 68 of the 123 seats at the NA, while the CNRP got 2.9 million votes or the remaining 55 seats.

Among the 123 newly-elected lawmakers, the eldest one is Samdech Heng Samrin, CPP Honorary President, with the age of 79, followed by H.E. Keat Chhon and H.E. Hor Namhong, CPP senior members, and H.E. Pen Sovann, senior member of CNRP, with the age of 78, 77 and 77 respectively.

The youngest new lawmakers are H.E. Hun Many and H.E. Sar Sokha from CPP and H.E. Kang Kim Hak from CNRP, with 30, 32 and 33 years of age respectively.

Moreover, 25 out of 123 are female lawmakers, of them 18 are CPP members, while the rest are from CNRP.


Comments are closed.